Riders Set For Stage 12 Of Tour De France 2020 #rwanda #RwOT

Stage 12 will see riders peddle hard from Chauvigny to Sarran is a tribute to two famous Frenchmen who died towards the end of last year. The race will pass through St-Léonard-de-Noblat, the village of Raymond Poulidor, the man who made the podium of the Tour de France eight times and remained a GC contender until his 40s without ever wearing the yellow jersey for a single.

It will end in Sarran in the Corrèze department that used to be the feud of former President Jacques Chirac who visited the Tour de France when he led the country. It can also be a very interesting stage on a lumpy terrain, particularly in its finale. The cat. 2 Suc au May climb, with 26km to go, is suitable for action. Typically, this is a stage for what the French call the 'baroudeurs', the attackers from a long way out who never give up.

Raymond Poulidor. This Stage 12 is a tribute to this great man nicknamed 'Pou-Pou', was a French professional racing cyclist, who rode for Mercier his entire career.

Stage 11 Was won By Caleb Ewan

He's asked if he instantly knew he had won: He said, 'Not really. I saluted just in case. I did a bit throw and when you throw you're basically just looking down at the ground, so you don't see if you've won or not. Sometimes you can feel it and I felt I was quite close. I haven't seen the photo yet but I think it was quite close. I'm super happy with my two stage wins. One takes the pressure off and then after the first you want a second. I'm sure I'll want a third, especially in Paris.'

'It was very very hectic. I was really close to the front with 2km to go, I was more forward than I wanted to be, especially with a headwind finish, but I dropped back into the bunch a little bit and from there it was quite crazy. I just had to keep calm and wait for the right gap to open, and it did in the end, quite late but I just had a real desire to win after yesterday â€" I was quite disappointed with my sprint and I was happy to repay my teammates with a win.'

  1. Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)
  2. Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe)
  3. Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-Quick Step)
  4. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma)
  5. Bryan Coquard (B&B Hotels/Vital Concept)
  6. Clement Venturini (AG2R La Mondiale)
  7. Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo)
  8. Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott)
  9. Hugo Hofstetter (Israel Start-up Nation)
  10. Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale)


Post a comment